Skip to main content

Asbestos Fees

1. Who is covered?

Owners or operators filing the notifications required by the federal asbestos National Emission Standard for Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAP) are covered. These notifications are required to be filed 10 working days in advance of asbestos demolition or renovation projects subject to the federal NESHAP. The Illinois EPA has been delegated the authority to implement and enforce the asbestos NESHAP by the U.S. EPA, and currently receives all “10-day notifications,� inspects work sites for compliance with the asbestos NESHAP, responds to complaints regarding failure to comply with the asbestos NESHAP, and ensures proper remediation.

2. What is the fee?

Under the law, a fee of $150 per 10-day notification will be collected.

3. Is the notification form available on-line?

Yes. The notification form is available for download from our web site.

4. Who do I contact with questions?

Additional information or assistance is available by contacting

Illinois EPA
Bureau of Air
Asbestos Unit