Skip to main content


All three tiers of the Volunteer Lake Monitoring Program (VLMP) were suspended in 2019 and will remain suspended until the Agency determines if the program can be reinstated. For questions please contact Gregg Good or Tara Norris

If you would like more information about the Illinois Volunteer Lake Monitoring Program please contact the Surface Water Section at 217-782-3362 or email or

Current Program Staff


Greg Ratliff—Statewide Coordinator
Illinois Environmental Protection Agency
Lakes Unit #15
1021 North Grand Avenue East
Springfield, IL 62794-9276
Phone: 217-782-3362

Counties Greg Coordinates: Adams, Bond, Boone, Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Champaign, Christian, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, DeKalb, DeWitt, Douglas, Edgar, Edwards, Effingham, Fayette, Ford, Fulton, Greene, Grundy, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Iroquois, Jasper, Jersey, Jo Daviess, Kankakee, Knox, LaSalle, Lawrence, Lee, Livingston, Logan, Macon, Macoupin, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McLean, Menard, Mercer, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Ogle, Peoria, Piatt, Pike, Putnam, Randolph, Richland, Rock Island, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, St. Clair, Stark, Stephenson, Tazewell, Vermilion, Wabash, Warren, Washington, Wayne, White, Whiteside, Winnebago, Woodford

Holly Hudson – Northern Coordinator
Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning
233 South Wacker Drive, Suite 800
Chicago, IL 60606
Phone: 312-454-0400
Counties Holly Coordinates: Cook, DuPage, Kane, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, Will

Alana Bartolai—Lake County
Lake County Health Department
500 W. Winchester Road, Unit 102
Libertyville, IL 60048
Phone: 847-377-8009
County Alana Coordinates: Lake

Tyler Carpenter—Southern Coordinator
Greater Egypt Regional Planning and Development Commission 
3000 W. DeYoung Street, Suite 800B-3 
Marion, IL 62959 
Phone: 618-997-9351

Counties Tyler Coordinates: Alexander, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Massac, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Saline, Union and Williamson

Illinois EPA Technical Assistance

Diane Tancl
Des Plaines Regional Office 
Phone: 847-294-4000

Springfield Regional Office
Phone: 217-557-8761

Mike Bundren
Marion Regional Office
Phone: 618-993-7200