November 22, 2024

Re: Seavey Ditch and Lake Charles Streambank and Shoreline Restoration (Illinois EPA BOW

ID# 990000060)

Clean Water Act Section 401 Water Quality Certification (C-0213-24)

## To Distribution List:

This Environmental Justice notification letter is to inform you that the Village of Vernon Hills is applying for a Section 401 Water Quality Certification pursuant to the Clean Water Act. The application proposes to restore approximately 2,300 feet of the Seavey Ditch channel at the intersection of Greggs Parkway and Beaver Creek Drive. Additionally, the proposal includes installing a small, online sediment trap upstream of Lake Charles to capture sediment prior to discharging into Lake Charles.

The Illinois EPA (IEPA) Bureau of Water (BOW) is reviewing the application. The Office of Environmental Justice welcomes your feedback.

The draft Water Quality Certification and instructions for submitting comments during the public comment period will be available on the IEPA's website (<a href="https://epa.illinois.gov/public-notices/section-401-notices.html">https://epa.illinois.gov/public-notices/section-401-notices.html</a>) once it is ready for review. For questions about the public comment period or a public hearing, contact Barb Lieberoff, Office of Community Relations, at (217) 524-3038 or <a href="mailto:barb.lieberoff@illinois.gov">barb.lieberoff@illinois.gov</a>.

If you would like to sign up to receive notifications by email, please visit the IEPA's Environmental Justice webpage, <a href="https://epa.illinois.gov/topics/environmental-justice.html">https://epa.illinois.gov/topics/environmental-justice.html</a>.

For any other questions, please contact Chris Pressnall, Manager of the Office of Environmental Justice, at (217) 524-1284 or <u>EPA.OEJ@Illinois.gov</u>.

Sincerely,

Chris Pressnall, Manager

Office of Environmental Justice

## **Organization Distribution List**

Seavey Ditch and Lake Charles Streambank and Shoreline

Restoration - Chris Venatta\*

State Senator Adriane Johnson - State Senate District #30\*

State Representative Daniel Didech - State Representative

District #59\*

U.S. Representative Brad Schneider - U.S. Congressional

District #10\*

U.S. Senator Richard J. Durbin\*

U.S. Senator Tammy Duckworth\*

Village of Vernon Hills - Roger Byrne, Village President\*

Village of Vernon Hills – Board of Trustees\*

Lake County Board\*

Illinois NAACP - Gregory Norris\*

Illinois NAACP - Teresa Haley\*

Respiratory Health Association - Brian P. Urbaszewski\*

Sierra Club - Jack Darin\*

Sierra Club - Christine Nannicelli\*

Sierra Club - Mila Marshall\*

Faith in Place - Rev. Brian Sauder\*

Illinois Environmental Regulatory Group - Kelly Thompson\*

Chemical Industry Council of Illinois - Lisa Frede\*

United States EPA – Kathy Triantafillou\*

IL Manufacturers' Association - Donovan Griffith\*

Shawnee Hills & Hollers – Georgia de la Garza\*

Shawnee Hills & Hollers - Sabrina Hardenbergh\*

Illinois Environmental Council – Jennifer Walling\*

LVEJO - Juliana Pino\*

Earthjustice – Jennifer Cassel\*

Earthjustice - Debbie Chizewer\*

Northwestern Pritzker School of Law - Robert A. Weinstock\*

Great Rivers Environmental Law Center - Sarah Rubenstein\*

Great Rivers Environmental Law Center - Cailtin Stiltner\*

Stericycle - Susan Olavarria\*

University of Illinois - Prairie Research Institute – Debra

Jacobson\*

Council of State Governments - Midwest - Jess Lienhardt\*

Exxon Mobil Corporation – Brad Sims\*

Taft Law - Ryan Rudich\*

Mostardi Platt - Jena DiFiore\*

Energy Infrastructure Partners – Matt Kok\*

Geosyntec - Brian Valleskey\*

Illinois Asphalt Pavement Association – Kevin Burke III, P.E.\*

Ramboll – LaTorria Sims\*

University of Illinois Springfield – John Ferry\*

Christ Episcopal Church - Eileen Shanley-Roberts\*

Clean Power Lake County - Celeste Flores\*

Clean Power Lake County\*

CPI - Natalie Warkenthien\*

Dymonds Renewable Energy – Joanne Young\*

Dynamic Environmental Services - Kyle Webb\*

Friends of the Chicago River – Adam Flickinger\*

Friends of the Chicago River - Margaret Frisbie\*

iChoosr - Fred Wu\*

Illinois Department of Transportation – John Sherrill\*

Lake County Stormwater Management Commission – Jacob

Jozefowski\*

Langan – Vinicius De Paula\*

Metropolitan Mayors Caucus – Edith Makra\*

Mostardi Platt – Britt Wenzel\*

Ridgewood Environmental - Jim Kallas\*

Sun-Times – Brett Chase\*

The Resiliency Institute - Jodi Trendler\*

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers – Alex Hoxsie\*

Waste Connections - Thomas Hilbert\*

Waste Management – Lisa Disbrow\*

Zion Landfill Inc – Mark Bingham\*

\*Receiving E-Notifications