October 25, 2024

Re: IIT Central Utility Plant (Illinois EPA BOA ID# 031600AVA)

Construction Permit (24100013)

To Distribution List:

This Environmental Justice notification letter is to inform you that IIT Central Utility Plant located in Chicago at 3430 South Federal Street is applying for a Construction Permit (24100013) for the installation of a new temporary natural gas boiler. The Illinois EPA (IEPA) Bureau of Air (BOA) is reviewing the application. The Office of Environmental Justice welcomes your feedback.

If you would like additional information regarding this project, such as the permit application, please submit a Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) request via the IEPA's online portal at <a href="https://epa.illinois.gov/foia.html">https://epa.illinois.gov/foia.html</a>.

If you would like to sign up to receive notifications by email, please visit the IEPA's Environmental Justice webpage, <a href="https://epa.illinois.gov/topics/environmental-justice.html">https://epa.illinois.gov/topics/environmental-justice.html</a>.

Si desea inscribirse para recibir notificaciones por correo electrónico, por favor visite la página web de Justicia Ambiental, <a href="https://epa.illinois.gov/topics/environmental-justice.html">https://epa.illinois.gov/topics/environmental-justice.html</a>.

For any other questions, please contact Chris Pressnall, Manager of the Office of Environmental Justice, at (217) 524-1284 or <a href="mailto:EPA.OEJ@Illinois.gov">EPA.OEJ@Illinois.gov</a>.

Sincerely,

Chris Pressnall, Manager

Office of Environmental Justice

## **Organization Distribution List**

IIT Central Utility Plant - Amy Stanton\*

State Senator Mattie Hunter - State Senate District #3\*

State Representative Sonya M. Harper - State Representative District #6\*

U.S. Representative Jonathan L. Jackson - U.S. Congressional

District #1\*

U.S. Senator Richard J. Durbin\* U.S. Senator Tammy Duckworth\*

City of Chicago - Brandon Johnson, Mayor\*

City of Chicago - City Council\*

Cook County Department of Environment & Sustainability –

Deborah Stone\*

Cook County Board of Commissioners\*

Chicago Southside Branch NAACP - #3005 - Rose Joshua,

President\*

Illinois NAACP – Gregory Norris\* Illinois NAACP – Teresa Halev\*

Respiratory Health Association - Brian P. Urbaszewski\*

Sierra Club - Jack Darin\*

Sierra Club – Christine Nannicelli\* Sierra Club – Mila Marshall\* Faith in Place – Rev. Brian Sauder\*

Illinois Environmental Regulatory Group - Kelly Thompson\*

Chemical Industry Council of Illinois - Lisa Frede\*

United States EPA - Kathy Triantafillou\*

IL Manufacturers' Association - Donovan Griffith\* Shawnee Hills & Hollers - Georgia de la Garza\* Shawnee Hills & Hollers - Sabrina Hardenbergh\* Illinois Environmental Council - Jennifer Walling\*

Earthjustice – Jennifer Cassel\* Earthjustice – Debbie Chizewer\*

Northwestern Pritzker School of Law – Robert A. Weinstock\* Great Rivers Environmental Law Center – Sarah Rubenstein\* Great Rivers Environmental Law Center – Cailtin Stiltner\*

Stericycle - Susan Olavarria\*

University of Illinois - Prairie Research Institute – Debra Jacobson\*

Council of State Governments – Midwest – Jess Lienhardt\*

 $Exxon\ Mobil\ Corporation-Brad\ Sims*$ 

Taft Law – Ryan Rudich\* Mostardi Platt – Jena DiFiore\*

Energy Infrastructure Partners - Matt Kok\*

Geosyntec - Brian Valleskey\*

Illinois Asphalt Pavement Association - Kevin Burke III, P.E.\*

Burns & McDonnell – Scott Cormier\* Chicago Legal Clinic, Inc. – Keith Harley\*

CPI - Natalie Warkenthien\* Ecolab Inc. – Michael Bickel\*

Environmental Law Counsel, P.C. – Patricia Sharkey\* Friends of the Chicago River – Adam Flickinger\* Friends of the Chicago River – Margaret Frisbie\* Friends of the Chicago River – Tessa Murray\*

Gold Wave, Inc. - Brian A Voss\*

Illinois Dept. of Transportation – John Sherrill\*

Illinois Environmental Protection Agency – Sabrina Bailey\* Lake County Stormwater Management Commission – Jacob

Jozefowski\*

Langan - Vinicius De Paula\*

Metropolitan Mayors Caucus – Edith Makra\*

Natural Resource Defense Council – Ivan Moreno\*

One Earth Collective - Laurie Casey\*

PJM - Jill Gates\*

Sun-Times - Brett Chase\*

Waste Connections – Thomas Hilbert\*
Waste Management – Lisa Disbrow\*

Weaver Consultants Group - Wenjuan Zhai\*

Weaver Consultants Group\*

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Alex Hoxsie\*

Mostardi Platt - Britt Wenzel\*

Dynamic Environmental Services – Kyle Webb\* Roux Associates, Inc. – Mir Seyed Abbasi\* Ridgewood Environmental – Jim Kallas\*

iChoosr - Fred Wu\*

Illinois Environmental Council – Samira Hanessian\* Illinois Environmental Council – Iyana Simba\*

NBC 5 Chicago - Bennett Haeberle\*

APMonarch - Nicole G.\*

Cook County Department of Facilities Management – Pat Nolan\*
Cook County Department of Environment and Sustainability –
Ricardo Magallon\*

Nuclear Energy Information Service - Stephanie Bilenko\*

EdgeConneX – Haley Willis\*

Center for Neighborhood Technology - Cyatharine Alias\*

Kass Management - Cait Kane\*

Equity in Health Advisors Network, Inc. - Janice F. Guider\*

QEI – Caroline Levenda\*

Evanston/Skokie D65 – Milly G.

Voces Fieles Comunitarias Contra la Opresión – Delia Barajas\*

The Resiliency Institute – Jodi Trendler\*
Alliance of the Southeast – Katia Balba\*
Alliance of the Southeast – Chris White\*
Dymonds Renewable Energy – Joanne Young\*

Cook County Chief Adminstrative Office – Debra T. Kutska

IEAC - Donald G. Purdy\*

Blueprint Foundation - Monica E. Wright\*
Bridgeport Alliance - Anna Schibrowsky\*
Chicago Dept. of Public Health - Alfonso Martel\*
Chicago Urban League - Karen Youngblood\*
Illinois Attorney General's Office - Stephen Sylvester\*

Illinois Environmental Council - Dany Robles\*
Illinois Office of the Governor - Chitra Balakrishnan\*

Kass Management - Cait Kane\*
NAAEE - Mary Ocwieja\*

National Wildlife Federation - Sophee Langerman\* People for Community Recovery - Cheryl Johnson\* People's Council - Daniel Villalobos-Terrazas\*

Republic Services - Brian Holcomb\* Sims Metal - Susan Donovan\*

Sims Metal Management - Deborah Hays\*

Southeast Environmental Task Force - Olga Bautista\*

Southwest Environmental Alliance - Theresa Reyes McNamara\*

Tetra Tech, Inc. - Kristine Kruk Schnoes\* Neighbors for Environmental Justice\*