ILLINOIS ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY



1021 North Grand Avenue East, P.O. Box 19276, Springfield, Illinois 62794-9276 · (217) 782-3397

JB PRITZKER, GOVERNOR

JOHN J. KIM, DIRECTOR

June 7, 2024

Re: IIT Central Utility Plant (Illinois EPA BOA ID# 031600AVA)

Construction Permit (24040018); Federally Enforceable State Operating Permit (00010044)

To Distribution List:

In accordance with the Illinois EPA's Environmental Justice Policy, the Office of Environmental Justice wants to provide you with information about potential actions. The Illinois EPA is sending this letter to notify you of applications received by the Bureau of Air (BOA).

The Illinois EPA has received applications for a Construction Permit and revised Federally Enforceable State Operating Permit 00010044 for IIT Central Utility Plant located at 3430 S Federal St in Chicago. The Construction Permit application is for the trigeneration project (combined cooling, heat and power), which involves the decommissioning and replacement of old turbines and duct burners with high-efficiency equipment with emission controls. The source has also applied to revise their Federally Enforceable State Operating Permit, which will incorporate construction permit 24040018.

The applications are currently under review by the BOA.

If you would like to sign up to receive notifications by email, please visit the Illinois EPA Environmental Justice webpage: https://epa.illinois.gov/topics/environmental-justice.html

If you have questions about the application, please contact Chris Pressnall, Environmental Justice Coordinator at (217) 524-1284, <u>EPA.OEJ@Illinois.gov</u>.

Sincerely,

Chris Pressnall

Environmental Justice Coordinator

Distribution List

IIT Central Utility Plant - Amy Stanton*

State Senator Mattie Hunter - State Senate District #3*

State Representative Sonya M. Harper - State Representative District # 6*

U.S. Representative Jonathan L. Jackson - U.S. Congressional District # 1*

U.S. Senator Richard J. Durbin* U.S. Senator Tammy Duckworth*

City of Chicago - Brandon Johnson, Mayor*

City of Chicago - City Council*

Cook County Department of Environment & Sustainability*

Cook County Board of Commissioners*

Chicago Southside Branch NAACP - #3005 - Rose Joshua, President*

Illinois NAACP – Gregory Norris* Illinois NAACP – Teresa Haley*

American Lung Association of Illinois – Angela Tin* Respiratory Health Association - Brian P. Urbaszewski*

Sierra Club - Jack Darin*

Sierra Club - Christine Nannicelli*

Sierra Club - Mila Marshall*

Faith in Place - Rev. Brian Sauder*

Illinois Environmental Regulatory Group - Kelly Thompson*

Chemical Industry Council of Illinois - Lisa Frede*

United States EPA - Kathy Triantafillou*

IL Manufacturers' Association - Donovan Griffith* Shawnee Hills & Hollers – Georgia de la Garza* Shawnee Hills & Hollers – Sabrina Hardenbergh*

Illinois Environmental Council - Jennifer Walling*

LVEJO - Juliana Pino*

Earthjustice – Jennifer Cassel* Earthjustice – Debbie Chizewer*

Northwestern Pritzker School of Law – Robert A. Weinstock* Great Rivers Environmental Law Center – Sarah Rubenstein* Great Rivers Environmental Law Center – Cailtin Stiltner*

Stericycle - Susan Olavarria*

University of Illinois - Prairie Research Institute – Debra Jacobson*

Illinois Attorney General's Office – Andrew Armstrong* Council of State Governments – Midwest – Jess Lienhardt*

Exxon Mobil Corporation - Brad Sims*

Taft Law – Ryan Rudich* Mostardi Platt – Jena DiFiore*

Energy Infrastructure Partners - Matt Kok*

Geosyntec – Brian Valleskey*
Burns & McDonnell – Scott Cormier*
Chicago Legal Clinic, Inc. – Keith Harley*
Chicago-Kent College of Law – Joe Popely*

CPI - Natalie Warkenthien* Ecolab Inc. – Michael Bickel*

Environmental Law Counsel, P.C. – Patricia Sharkey*

Freshwater Future - Kristen Haitaian*

Friends of the Chicago River - Adam Flickinger*

Friends of the Chicago River - Margaret Frisbie*

Gold Wave, Inc. - Brian A Voss*

Illinois Dept. of Transportation - John Sherrill*

Illinois Environmental Protection Agency – Sabrina Bailey* Lake County Stormwater Management Commission – Jacob

Jozefowski*

Langan – Vinicius De Paula*

Metropolitan Mayors Caucus – Edith Makra* Natural Resource Defense Council – Ivan Moreno*

One Earth Collective - Laurie Casey*

PJM – Jill Gates*

Sun-Times - Brett Chase*

Waste Connections – Thomas Hilbert* Waste Management – Lisa Disbrow*

Weaver Consultants Group - Wenjuan Zhai*

Weaver Consultants Group*

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Alex Hoxsie*

Mostardi Platt - Britt Wenzel*

Dynamic Environmental Services – Kyle Webb* Roux Associates, Inc. – Mir Seyed Abbasi* Ridgewood Environmental – Jim Kallas*

iChoosr - Fred Wu*

Illinois Environmental Council - Samira Hanessian*

NBC 5 Chicago – Bennett Haeberle* Brown and Caldwell – Jennifer Border*

Cook County Department of Facilities Management – Pat Nolan* Cook County Department of Environment and Sustainability -

Ricardo Magallon*

Nuclear Energy Information Service – Stephanie Bilenko*

EdgeConneX - Haley Willis*

Center for Neighborhood Technology - Cyatharine Alias*

Kass Management - Cait Kane*

Equity in Health Advisors Network, Inc. - Janice F. Guider*

Friends of the Chicago River - Tessa Murray*

QEI – Caroline Levenda* Evanston/Skokie D65 – Milly G.

Neighbors for Environmental Justice*

Alliance of the Southeast – Chris White* Alliance of the Southeast – Katia Balba*

Blueprint Foundation – Monica E. Wright* Bridgeport Alliance – Anna Schibrowsky*

Chicago Department of Public Health - Alfonso Martel*

Chicago Urban League – Karen Youngblood*

Illinois Attorney General's Office – Stephen Sylvester*

Kass Management – Cait Kane* NAAEE – Mary Ocwieja*

National Wildlife Federation – Sophee Langerman* People for Community Recovery – Cheryl Johnson* People's Council – Daniel Villalobos-Terrazas*

Republic Services – Brian Holcomb* Sims Metal – Susan Donovan*

Sims Metal Management - Deborah Hays*

Southeast Environmental Task Force – Olga Bautista*

Tetra Tech, Inc. - Kristine Kruk Schnoes*