October 24, 2024

Re: Higgins Creek Bank Stabilization (Illinois EPA BOW ID# 990000058) Clean Water Act Section 401 Water Quality Certification (C-0212-24)

To Distribution List:

This Environmental Justice notification letter is to inform you that Higgins Creek Bank Stabilization located in Des Plaines near 320 W Touhy Ave is applying for a Section 401 Water Quality Certification pursuant to the Clean Water Act. The application is for the restoration and stabilization of Higgins Creek by utilizing riprap and extending 1,370 linear feet on the west bank and 1,230 feet on the east bank. The purpose of the project is to prevent or lessen flooding. The Illinois EPA (IEPA) Bureau of Water (BOW) is reviewing the application. The Office of Environmental Justice welcomes your feedback.

The draft Water Quality Certification and instructions for submitting comments during the public comment period will be available on the IEPA's website (https://epa.illinois.gov/public-notices/section-401-notices.html) once it is ready for review. For questions about the public comment period or a public hearing, contact Barb Lieberoff, Office of Community Relations, at (217) 524-3038 or barb.lieberoff@illinois.gov.

If you would like to sign up to receive notifications by email, please visit the IEPA's Environmental Justice webpage, https://epa.illinois.gov/topics/environmental-justice.html.

Si desea inscribirse para recibir notificaciones por correo electrónico, por favor visite la página web de Justicia Ambiental, https://epa.illinois.gov/topics/environmental-justice.html.

For any other questions, please contact Chris Pressnall, Manager of the Office of Environmental Justice, at (217) 524-1284 or EPA.OEJ@Illinois.gov.

Sincerely,

Chris Pressnall, Manager

Office of Environmental Justice

Organization Distribution List

Higgins Creek Bank Stabilization - Bryan Wagner*

State Senator Laura M. Murphy - State Senate District #28* State Representative Michelle Mussman - State Representative District #56*

U.S. Representative Delia Ramirez - U.S. Congressional District #3*

U.S. Senator Richard J. Durbin*

U.S. Senator Tammy Duckworth*

City of Des Plaines - Andrew Goczkowski, Mayor*

City of Des Plaines - City Council*

Cook County Department of Environment & Sustainability – Deborah Stone*

Cook County Board of Commissioners*

Illinois NAACP – Gregory Norris* Illinois NAACP – Teresa Haley*

Respiratory Health Association - Brian P. Urbaszewski*

Sierra Club - Jack Darin*

Sierra Club - Christine Nannicelli*

Sierra Club - Mila Marshall*

Faith in Place - Rev. Brian Sauder*

Illinois Environmental Regulatory Group - Kelly Thompson*

Chemical Industry Council of Illinois - Lisa Frede*

United States EPA - Kathy Triantafillou*

IL Manufacturers' Association - Donovan Griffith*

Shawnee Hills & Hollers - Georgia de la Garza*

Shawnee Hills & Hollers - Sabrina Hardenbergh*

Illinois Environmental Council – Jennifer Walling*

Earthjustice - Jennifer Cassel*

Earthjustice - Debbie Chizewer*

Northwestern Pritzker School of Law - Robert A. Weinstock*

Great Rivers Environmental Law Center - Sarah Rubenstein*

Great Rivers Environmental Law Center – Cailtin Stiltner*

Stericycle - Susan Olavarria*

University of Illinois - Prairie Research Institute – Debra Jacobson*

Council of State Governments – Midwest – Jess Lienhardt*

Exxon Mobil Corporation – Brad Sims*

Taft Law - Ryan Rudich*

Mostardi Platt - Jena DiFiore*

Energy Infrastructure Partners – Matt Kok*

Geosyntec – Brian Valleskey*

Illinois Asphalt Pavement Association – Kevin Burke III, P.E.*

Burns & McDonnell - Scott Cormier*

Chicago Legal Clinic, Inc. - Keith Harley*

CPI - Natalie Warkenthien*

Ecolab Inc. - Michael Bickel*

Environmental Law Counsel, P.C. - Patricia Sharkey*

Friends of the Chicago River - Adam Flickinger*

Friends of the Chicago River - Margaret Frisbie*

Friends of the Chicago River - Tessa Murray*

Gold Wave, Inc. - Brian A Voss*

Illinois Dept. of Transportation – John Sherrill*

Illinois Environmental Protection Agency – Sabrina Bailey*

Lake County Stormwater Management Commission – Jacob Jozefowski*

Langan – Vinicius De Paula*

Metropolitan Mayors Caucus - Edith Makra*

Natural Resource Defense Council - Ivan Moreno*

One Earth Collective - Laurie Casey*

PJM - Jill Gates*

Sun-Times – Brett Chase*

Waste Connections - Thomas Hilbert*

Waste Management - Lisa Disbrow*

Weaver Consultants Group - Wenjuan Zhai*

Weaver Consultants Group*

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Alex Hoxsie*

Mostardi Platt - Britt Wenzel*

Dynamic Environmental Services - Kyle Webb*

Roux Associates, Inc. - Mir Seyed Abbasi*

Ridgewood Environmental - Jim Kallas*

iChoosr - Fred Wu*

Illinois Environmental Council - Samira Hanessian*

Illinois Environmental Council – Iyana Simba*

NBC 5 Chicago – Bennett Haeberle*

APMonarch - Nicole G.*

Cook County Department of Facilities Management – Pat

Nolan*

Cook County Department of Environment and Sustainability –

Ricardo Magallon*

Cook County Chief Adminstrative Office - Debra T. Kutska*

Nuclear Energy Information Service - Stephanie Bilenko*

EdgeConneX – Haley Willis*

Center for Neighborhood Technology - Cyatharine Alias*

Kass Management - Cait Kane*

Equity in Health Advisors Network, Inc. - Janice F. Guider*

QEI – Caroline Levenda*

Evanston/Skokie D65 – Milly G.

Voces Fieles Comunitarias Contra la Opresión – Delia

Barajas*

The Resiliency Institute - Jodi Trendler*

Alliance of the Southeast - Katia Balba*

Dymonds Renewable Energy – Joanne Young*

IEAC - Donald G. Purdy*

*Receiving E-Notifications