

1021 NORTH GRAND AVENUE EAST, P.O. BOX 19276, SPRINGFIELD, ILLINOIS 62794-9276 · (217) 782-3397

JB PRITZKER, GOVERNOR

JAMES JENNINGS, ACTING DIRECTOR

November 7, 2024

Re: City of Ottawa Sewage Treatment Plant (Illinois EPA BOW ID# IL0030384)

NPDES Renewal Permit (IL0030384)

To Distribution List:

This Environmental Justice notification letter is to inform you that the City of Ottawa Sewage Treatment Plant located in Ottawa at 100 Pontiac Lane is applying for a renewal of National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) Permit IL0030384. The applicant is engaged in treating domestic wastewater for the City of Ottawa and the Village of Naplate. NPDES is a federal program for regulating discharges to a surface water. The Illinois EPA (IEPA) Bureau of Water (BOW) is reviewing the application.

The draft NPDES Permit and instructions for submitting comments during the public comment period will be available on the IEPA's website (<a href="https://epa.illinois.gov/public-notices/npdes-individual-notices.html">https://epa.illinois.gov/public-notices/npdes-individual-notices.html</a>) once it is ready for review. For questions about the public comment period or a public hearing, contact Barb Lieberoff, Office of Community Relations, at (217) 524-3038 or <a href="https://epa.illinois.gov">barb.lieberoff@illinois.gov</a>.

If you would like additional information regarding this project, such as the permit application, please submit a Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) request via the IEPA's online portal at <a href="https://epa.illinois.gov/foia.html">https://epa.illinois.gov/foia.html</a>.

If you would like to sign up to receive notifications by email, please visit the IEPA's Environmental Justice webpage, <a href="https://epa.illinois.gov/topics/environmental-justice.html">https://epa.illinois.gov/topics/environmental-justice.html</a>.

For any other questions, please contact Chris Pressnall, Manager of the Office of Environmental Justice, at (217) 524-1284 or EPA.OEJ@Illinois.gov.

Sincerely,

Chris Pressnall, Manager

Office of Environmental Justice

## **Organization Distribution List**

City of Ottawa STP – Robert Hasty\*

State Senator Sue Rezin - State Senate

District #38\*

State Representative Lance Yednock - State

Representative District #76\*

U.S. Representative Lauren Underwood -

U.S. Congressional District #14\*

U.S. Senator Richard J. Durbin\*

U.S. Senator Tammy Duckworth\*

City of Ottawa – Robert Hasty, Mayor\*

City of Ottawa – City Council\*

LaSalle County Board\*

Illinois NAACP - Gregory Norris\*

Illinois NAACP – Teresa Haley\*

Respiratory Health Association - Brian P.

Urbaszewski\*

Sierra Club – Jack Darin\*

Sierra Club – Christine Nannicelli\*

Sierra Club – Mila Marshall\*

Faith in Place – Rev. Brian Sauder\*

Illinois Environmental Regulatory Group –

Kelly Thompson\*

Chemical Industry Council of Illinois – Lisa

Frede\*

United States EPA – Kathy Triantafillou\*

IL Manufacturers' Association - Donovan

Griffith\*

Shawnee Hills & Hollers – Georgia de la

Garza\*

Shawnee Hills & Hollers – Sabrina

Hardenbergh\*

Illinois Environmental Council – Jennifer

Walling\*

Earthjustice – Jennifer Cassel\*

Earthjustice – Debbie Chizewer\*

Northwestern Pritzker School of Law –

Robert A. Weinstock\*

Great Rivers Environmental Law Center –

Sarah Rubenstein\*

Great Rivers Environmental Law Center –

Cailtin Stiltner\*

Stericycle – Susan Olavarria\*

University of Illinois - Prairie Research

Institute – Debra Jacobson\*

Council of State Governments – Midwest –

Jess Lienhardt\*

Exxon Mobil Corporation – Brad Sims\*

Taft Law – Ryan Rudich\*

Mostardi Platt – Jena DiFiore\*

Energy Infrastructure Partners – Matt Kok\*

Geosyntec – Brian Valleskey\*

Illinois Asphalt Pavement Association –

Kevin Burke III, P.E.\*

Langan – Vinicius De Paula\*

Dynamic Environmental Services - Kyle

Webb\*

Hicks News - James Hicks\*

ProPublica - Jennifer Smith Richards\*

WBCU-FM - Timothy Shelley\*

\*Receiving E-Notifications