

ILLINOIS ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY

1021 North Grand Avenue East, P.O. Box 19276, Springfield, Illinois 62794-9276 · (217) 782-3397 JB Pritzker, Governor John J. Kim, Director

July 2, 2024

Re: City of Evanston (Illinois EPA BOW ID# W0310810001) Clean Water Act Section 401 Water Quality Certification (C-0078-24)

To Distribution List:

In accordance with the Illinois EPA's Environmental Justice Policy, the Office of Environmental Justice wants to provide you with information about a potential action. The Illinois EPA is sending this letter to notify you of an application received by the Bureau of Water (BOW).

The Illinois EPA has received an application for a Section 401 Water Quality Certification pursuant to the Clean Water Act from City of Evanston for its facility located at 555 Lincoln Street in Evanston. The application is for replacement of the raw water intake that supplies raw water from Lake Michigan to the Evanston water treatment plant. In addition, onshore modifications are needed to connect the water intake to the Evanston water treatment plant. The project will consist of shoreline, nearshore, and offshore construction activities to install a new 60" intake pipe and intake structures.

The application is currently under review by the Illinois EPA's Bureau of Water. Once ready for review, the Illinois EPA will post a public notice/fact sheet and draft permit on its website (<u>https://epa.illinois.gov/public-notices/section-401-notices.html</u>) and will accept comments during the public notice period. The procedures for public participation in the Water Pollution Control Permit Program can be found at 35 III Adm. Code Part 309. Inquiries concerning the availability of public comment or hearing in this matter may be addressed to Barb Lieberoff, Community Relations, at (217) 524-3038, <u>barb.lieberoff@illinois.gov</u>.

If you would like to sign up to receive notifications by email, please visit the Illinois EPA Environmental Justice webpage: <u>https://epa.illinois.gov/topics/environmental-justice.html</u>

If you have questions about the application, please contact Chris Pressnall, Manager of the Office of Environmental Justice at (217) 524-1284, <u>EPA.OEJ@illinois.gov</u>.

Sincerely,

Chris Pressnall, Manager Office of Environmental Justice

595 S. State Street, Elgin, IL 60123 (847) 608-3131 2309 W. Main Street, Suite 116, Marion, IL 62959 (618) 993-7200 412 SW Washington Street, Suite D, Peoria, IL 61602 (309) 671-3022 4302 N. Main Street, Rockford, IL 61103 (815) 987-7760

Distribution List

City of Evanston - Paul Moyano* State Senator Laura Fine - State Senate District #9* State Representative Robyn Gabel - State Representative District #18* U.S. Representative Jan Schakowsky - U.S. Congressional District #9* U.S. Senator Richard J. Durbin* U.S. Senator Tammy Duckworth* City of Evanston - Daniel Biss, Mayor* City of Evanston - City Council* Cook County Department of Environment & Sustainability* Cook County Board of Commissioners* Evanston Branch NAACP - #3015 - Michael Nabors, President* Illinois NAACP - Gregory Norris* Illinois NAACP - Teresa Haley* American Lung Association of Illinois - Angela Tin* Respiratory Health Association - Brian P. Urbaszewski* Sierra Club - Jack Darin* Sierra Club – Christine Nannicelli* Sierra Club - Mila Marshall* Faith in Place - Rev. Brian Sauder* Illinois Environmental Regulatory Group - Kelly Thompson* Chemical Industry Council of Illinois - Lisa Frede* United States EPA - Kathy Triantafillou* IL Manufacturers' Association - Donovan Griffith* Shawnee Hills & Hollers – Georgia de la Garza* Shawnee Hills & Hollers - Sabrina Hardenbergh* Illinois Environmental Council - Jennifer Walling* LVEJO - Juliana Pino* Earthjustice - Jennifer Cassel* Earthjustice - Debbie Chizewer* Northwestern Pritzker School of Law - Robert A. Weinstock* Great Rivers Environmental Law Center - Sarah Rubenstein* Great Rivers Environmental Law Center - Cailtin Stiltner* Stericycle - Susan Olavarria* University of Illinois - Prairie Research Institute -Debra Jacobson* Illinois Attorney General's Office - Andrew Armstrong* Council of State Governments - Midwest - Jess Lienhardt* Exxon Mobil Corporation - Brad Sims* Openlands - Molly Kordas* Taft Law - Ryan Rudich* Mostardi Platt - Jena DiFiore* Energy Infrastructure Partners - Matt Kok*

Geosyntec - Brian Valleskey* Chicago Legal Clinic, Inc. - Keith Harley* CPI - Natalie Warkenthien* Natural Resource Defense Council - Ivan Moreno* Illinois Dept. of Transportation - John Sherrill* Friends of the Chicago River - Adam Flickinger* Friends of the Chicago River - Margaret Frisbie* Environmental Law Counsel, P.C. - Patricia Sharkey* Illinois Environmental Protection Agency - Sabrina Bailev* Chicago-Kent College of Law - Joe Popely* Waste Connections - Thomas Hilbert* Burns & McDonnell - Scott Cormier* Brian A Voss - Gold Wave, Inc.* Ecolab Inc. - Michael Bickel* Sun-Times - Brett Chase* Langan - Vinicius De Paula* One Earth Collective - Laurie Casey* Metropolitan Mayors Caucus – Edith Makra* PJM - Jill Gates* Freshwater Future - Kristen Haitaian* Weaver Consultants Group - Wenjuan Zhai* Weaver Consultants Group* Waste Management - Lisa Disbrow* U.S. Army Corps of Engineers – Alex Hoxsie* Mostardi Platt - Britt Wenzel* Dynamic Environmental Services - Kyle Webb* Roux Associates, Inc. - Mir Seyed Abbasi* Ridgewood Environmental - Jim Kallas* iChoosr - Fred Wu* Illinois Environmental Council - Samira Hanessian* NBC 5 Chicago - Bennett Haeberle* Brown and Caldwell - Jennifer Border* Cook County Department of Facilities Management -Pat Nolan* Cook County Department of Environment and Sustainability - Ricardo Magallon* Nuclear Energy Information Service - Stephanie Bilenko* EdgeConneX - Haley Willis* Center for Neighborhood Technology - Cyatharine Alias* Kass Management - Cait Kane* Equity in Health Advisors Network, Inc. - Janice F. Guider* Friends of the Chicago River - Tessa Murray* QEI - Caroline Levenda* Evanston/Skokie D65 – Milly G. Smith Park neighbors - Regina Sant'Anna* Environmental Justice Evanston - Jerri Garl* City of Evanston - Sarah Flax*