

FAQ: Illinois' Electric Vehicle Rebate Program

Illinois residents that purchase a new or used all-electric vehicle from an Illinois licensed dealer, meet all other eligibility requirements, and apply during a rebate cycle will be eligible for a rebate. **Payments to eligible individuals will be made as long as funding is available.**

Eligibility	Rebate Processing
Application Procedures	Funding Cycles
Incomplete Applications and Appealing	Miscellaneous

How much is the rebate?

For the current fiscal year, the rebate amounts are \$4,000 for an electric vehicle and \$1,500 for an electric motorcycle.

How do I apply for the electric vehicle (EV) rebate?

Forms and instructions on submitting a rebate application are available on Illinois' <u>Electric Vehicle Rebate</u> <u>Program webpage</u> during each funding round. You may want to consider signing up for the EV Listserv located on that page to receive funding announcements and updates.

How much funding is available for rebates?

The Illinois EPA has been appropriated \$14 million for the current fiscal year, which ends on June 30, 2025. Actual funding amounts will be determined by the amount of money available in the Electric Vehicle Rebate Fund not to exceed \$14 million.

Eligibility

What are the eligibility requirements for the rebate?

The rules governing the Electric Vehicle Rebate Program, 35 Ill. Adm. Code 275, define "eligibility" as:

On and after July 1, 2022, each individual who purchases an electric vehicle and satisfies the criteria set forth in this Section is eligible to receive a rebate under this Part. To be eligible to receive a rebate, a purchaser must:

- Reside in Illinois, both at the time the vehicle was purchased and at the time the rebate is issued. [415 ILCS 120/27(b)(1)].
- Not have received a rebate under the Act in the 10 years prior to the date an application is received by the Agency. A rebate may only be applied for and awarded once per purchaser in any 10-year period. [415 ILCS 120/27(f)]



- Purchase a new or used electric vehicle in Illinois on or after July 1, 2022, from a dealership licensed by the Illinois Secretary of State and be the owner of the vehicle at the time the rebate is issued. Rented or leased vehicles, vehicles purchased from an out-of-state dealership, and vehicles delivered to or received by the purchaser out-of-state are not eligible for a rebate under the Act. [415 ILCS 120/27(b) (2)].
- Purchase an electric vehicle that has never been the subject of a rebate issued under the Act. A rebate administered under this Act may only be applied for and awarded one time per vehicle identification number. [415 ILCS 120/27(f)]. The Agency will provide on its website a <u>searchable</u> <u>list of vehicle identification numbers</u> for vehicles that have received a rebate under the Act.
- Apply for the rebate within 90 days after the vehicle purchase date by providing all of the information specified in Section 275.230 to the Agency. [415 ILCS 120/27(b)(3)]. The application must be postmarked within 90 days after the vehicle purchase date.
- The purchaser must retain ownership of the vehicle for a minimum of 12 consecutive months immediately after the vehicle purchase date. The purchaser must register the vehicle in Illinois during that time frame. Rebate recipients who fail to satisfy any of the above criteria will be required to reimburse the Agency all of the original rebate amount and shall notify the Agency within 60 days of failing to satisfy the criteria. [415 ILCS 120/27(d)].

If I purchased a vehicle before the current funding cycle opens, am I eligible for a rebate?

You will be eligible if you purchased an eligible vehicle, apply within 90 days of the purchase date and during the application period, and meet all other eligibility requirements.

Who is considered a licensed dealer?

The dealership must have a dealer license with the Illinois Secretary of State.

Does the EV rebate include plug-in hybrids?

No. The Electric Vehicle Rebate Act defines "electric vehicle" as:

"Electric vehicle" means a vehicle that is exclusively powered by and refueled by electricity, must be plugged in to charge, and is licensed to drive on public roadways. "Electric vehicle" does not include electric mopeds, electric off-highway vehicles, or hybrid electric vehicles and extended-range electric vehicles that are also equipped with conventional fueled propulsion or auxiliary engines.

Does the EV rebate include motorcycles?

Yes. A \$1,500 rebate is available for electric motorcycles. To be rebate eligible, the vehicle must be able to legally drive on highways with a minimum 45 mph speed limit as the definition of electric vehicle does not include "off-highway" vehicles.

Does the EV rebate include off-road vehicles?

No. The definition of "electric vehicle" specifically excludes off-road vehicles.

State of Illinois Illinois Environmental Protection Agency January 2025



Do LSV (Low Speed Vehicles) qualify for this program?

No. To be eligible, the vehicle must be able to legally drive on highways with a minimum speed limit of at least 45 mph, as the definition of electric vehicle does not include "off-highway" vehicles.

"Electric vehicle" means a vehicle that is exclusively powered by and refueled by electricity, must be plugged in to charge, and is licensed to drive on public roadways. "Electric vehicle" does not include electric mopeds, electric off highway vehicles, or hybrid electric vehicles and extended-range electric vehicles that are also equipped with conventional fueled propulsion or auxiliary engines. [415 ILCS 120/10]

Is there an income limit for eligibility to receive the rebate?

There is no income limit on eligibility; however, the Illinois EPA is directed by the law to "prioritize the review of qualified applications from low-income purchasers and award rebates to qualified purchasers accordingly."

Who qualifies as low income?

Low income is defined by the EV Rebate Act as:

"Low income" means persons and families whose income does not exceed 80% of the State median income as established by the United States Department of Health and Human Services.

A table with current income thresholds is included in the application instructions.

If I received a rebate under the former Alternate Fuels Program in the past 10 years, will I still be eligible for a rebate under the Electric Vehicle rebate?

Yes. The 10-year limitation on each person receiving a rebate only applies to rebates issued consistent with the new Electric Vehicle Rebate program, not any prior rebate program. If you have received a rebate for purchasing an electric or alternatively fueled vehicle prior to July 1, 2022, the rebate was given under the Alternate Fuels Program.

Application Procedures

When are applications due?

The rebate application must be postmarked within 90 days of the vehicle purchase date,

AND

The rebate application must be postmarked on or before the end of the rebate cycle.

Note that rebates are first issued to applicants that qualify as low-income and then in postmark date order to other applicants. Rebates will only be issued as long as funding is available. After funding is exhausted, applications for rebate will no longer be reviewed.

Is the purchase summary enough documentation for the application?

No. You must provide a copy of the signed purchased agreement.



Is my temporary registration enough or do I need to wait and submit my permanent Illinois vehicle registration?

A copy of the temporary permit or vehicle registration will suffice. However, we cannot accept the Illinois Secretary of State application for the vehicle registration nor vehicle title nor other document as a substitute.

Does the Illinois EPA provide receipt of application to the applicant?

The Illinois EPA does not provide information on application receipt. If the application is deemed ineligible, or incomplete or there are insufficient funds, the applicant will receive a denial letter or an insufficient funds letter in that regard. Alternatively, the rebate will be processed and the applicant will receive a check from the Illinois Office of Comptroller.

While not required, applicants seeking confirmation of receipt should send applications by certified mail so that the applicant will receive a delivery receipt from the United States Postal Service.

Should I keep a copy of the application documents that I submit?

While not required, it is prudent to keep a copy of the application materials submitted to the Illinois EPA for future reference. The Illinois EPA will not return application materials.

If I own the vehicle with another person, do I put both names on the application?

No. Put only the name of the person applying for the rebate.

What does "Gross Income" mean and how is it applied to this program?

As stated in Section 6 on the application form and application instructions, the applicant's income level is to be determined by totaling the combined gross income of the applicant and all persons over the age of 18 living at applicant's residence and related to applicant by blood, marriage, or adoption. This would include the combined pre-tax and pre-deduction income from all applicable persons in the household for all income sources, including, but not limited to, income from employment, social security, pensions, interest, dividends, rental income, and support payments. Further, all gross income is to be accounted for, whether it is taxable income or non-taxable income and whether or not it is reported to the IRS or the State of Illinois.

Incomplete Applications and Appealing

Will I receive notification if my rebate is denied?

Yes. If a rebate is denied, including for untimeliness, ineligibility, lack of documentation, a denial letter will be sent to the applicant with instructions for resubmitting missing documentation and/or appealing the denial.

What can I do if I receive a denial of my rebate application?

The critical first step is to carefully review the denial letter to determine the basis for denial.

If the denial letter states that the application is denied because it is incomplete, the application may address



the deficiencies noted in the letter by a **re-application**, provided the applicant continues to meet the eligibility requirements **and the application is postmarked within 90 days of the vehicle purchase date AND by** the close of the application round. Note that this "re-application" constitutes a new application with a new postmarked place in the queue for review of application and issuance of a rebate. The applicant may resubmit an application by simply including a new application form, clearly stating at the top of the form that applicant incorporates by reference all previously submitted information and documents, certifying/signing the form, and inserting the information that was missing on the form and/or including the documentation that was missing as noted in the denial letter. Alternatively, the applicant may provide an entire stand-alone fully completed application including copies of all previously submitted information as well as the requested materials and documents.

If the denial letter states that the application is **not eligible for a rebate**, rather than just incomplete, then there is no opportunity nor need for an application resubmission. If the applicant believes that the Illinois EPA has erred in its decision, the applicant may file an appeal of decision with the Director of the Illinois EPA, see <u>program rules</u> for information concerning appeals.

I received a denial letter for having an incomplete application, should I appeal or just send in the missing information?

You will need to decide the best option; however, if your application is missing required documents or information, an appeal will be denied. The denial letter gives instructions on what information is missing and where to send the missing information. All eligibility criteria apply and you are only eligible to resubmit an application if the reapplication is postmarked within 90 days of purchase of your vehicle and by the close of the application round. *Importantly, do not both appeal and resubmit your application, take one action or the other.*

When sending in additional information to complete my application, should I also include the whole package of information that I originally sent?

There is no need to send all of the original documentation, only the missing information, provided the applicant continues to meet the eligibility requirements. You should include a copy of your original application form and note that you are adding missing information. Any completeness or reapplication must be **postmarked within 90 days of the vehicle purchase date AND by the close of the application round**. Note that a "re-application" constitutes a new application with a new postmarked place in the queue for review of application and issuance of a rebate.

Rebate Processing

Is the rebate a tax credit or will I receive a check?

Disbursement of rebates will be in the form of a check from the Illinois Office of Comptroller. To this end, an IRS form <u>W-9</u> or <u>W-8BIN</u>, as applicable, is required documentation as part of the application to process the rebate.

How can an applicant find when their rebate is issued?

Applicants can go to the Illinois Office of Comptroller's Vendor Payments query system to view Issued and Pending Payments at <u>https://illinoiscomptroller.gov/vendor-services/vendor-payments-new</u>. As noted elsewhere, rebates will first be issued to low-income applicants. Rebates for other applicants necessarily will State of Illinois Illinois Environmental Protection Agency January 2025



not begin to be issued until it is determined that sufficient funds are available to pay all low-income applicants.

When will I receive my rebate?

If your application is deemed ineligible or incomplete, you will receive a denial letter. If your application cannot be funded due to insufficient funding, you will receive an insufficient funding letter. If you do not receive a denial letter, you will be awarded a rebate if funds are available. The rebate check may arrive to you up to several weeks after the close of the rebate application period.

Funding Cycles

Will there be future funding cycles?

There will be future funding cycles as funds allow.

When will the next funding cycle open?

Application information will be available on Illinois' <u>Electric Vehicle Rebate Program webpage</u>. Those interested in being notified about future EV rebate cycles should sign-up for the listserv on the EV Rebate Program webpage.

Will applications that could not be paid during a funding cycle due to insufficient funding or were submitted after the funding cycle be rolled over to the next funding cycle?

Applications will not be rolled over into future funding cycles.

Miscellaneous

Can the program be used by fleet operators as well?

The Electric Vehicle Rebate Program is for individuals, not governments, businesses, or commercial entities.

Is there a rebate for installation of charging infrastructure at individual homes?

There are currently no state grants or rebates available for infrastructure for individual electric vehicle owners at their residences. However, Illinois is working toward expanding electric vehicle charging infrastructure in Illinois for public use on many fronts.