
 

 

Illinois residents that purchase a new or used all-electric vehicle from an Illinois licensed dealer, 
meet all other eligibility requirements, and apply during a rebate cycle will be eligible for a rebate.  
Payments to eligible individuals will be made as long as funding is available. 
 

 
PROGRAM CHANGES 

 
The full text of the EV Rebate Act, including recent changes, is found at 
https://www.ilga.gov/Legislation/ILCS/Articles?ActID=1608&ChapterID=36&Chapter=ENVIRONMENTAL
%20SAFETY&MajorTopic=HEALTH%20AND%20SAFETY 

 
Limits on the price of vehicle 
An "eligible vehicle" is an electric vehicle, as defined by the EV Rebate Act, with a selling price not 
exceeding $80,000 as shown on the bill of sale. State and local taxes, license and registration fees, 
documentary service fees, and aftermarket products, including, but not limited to, extended warranties, 
service contracts, and other voluntary vehicle protection products, are excluded from the calculation of 
the selling price if separately itemized on the bill of sale. The eligible vehicle may not have been the 
subject of a previous rebate. 

 
Change to the rebate amount 
The rebate is $2,000 for an eligible new or used electric vehicle. Low-income applicants, defined below, 
are eligible to receive an additional $2,000 ($4,000 total rebate). The rebate amount for eligible 
motorcycles remains the same, $1,500 for all eligible applicants. 

 
Cap on the income of applicants 
An “eligible applicant” is defined as “persons and families whose income does not exceed 500% of the 
federal poverty line for the current State fiscal year and who may not be claimed as a dependent.” 

 
Change to the definition of low-income applicant  
A “low-income applicant” is defined as, “ persons and families whose income does not exceed 80% of the 
regional or county median income for the current State fiscal year, as established by the United States 
Department of Housing and Urban Development's Illinois Income Limits by metropolitan area and 
county.” Median income can be found on the HUD website at Illinois Low Income Limits by County 

 
Longer time to apply from the date of vehicle purchase 
Applicants now have 180 days from the date of purchase to submit an application (up from 90 days 
previously). Applications must be submitted during an open application period. The next application 
period opens on October 28, 2025. Applications postmarked prior to October 28, 2025 will be rejected.  

 
 

https://www.ilga.gov/Legislation/ILCS/Articles?ActID=1608&ChapterID=36&Chapter=ENVIRONMENTAL%20SAFETY&MajorTopic=HEALTH%20AND%20SAFETY
https://www.ilga.gov/Legislation/ILCS/Articles?ActID=1608&ChapterID=36&Chapter=ENVIRONMENTAL%20SAFETY&MajorTopic=HEALTH%20AND%20SAFETY
https://www.huduser.gov/portal/datasets/il/il2024/select_Geography.odn?STATES=17.0&statelist=17.0&stname=&wherefrom=%24wherefrom%24&statefp=00&year=&ne_flag=0&selection_type=&incpath=%24incpath%24&data=2024


 
 
Overview 

 
How much is the rebate? 
For the current fiscal year, the rebate is $2,000 for a new or used electric vehicle. Low-income 
applicants are eligible for an additional $2,000 for a total rebate of $4,000. 
 
The rebate amount for an electric motorcycle is $1,500 for all applicants. 
 
How do I apply for the electric vehicle (EV) rebate? 
Forms and instructions on submitting a rebate application are available on Illinois’  Electric Vehicle 
Rebate Program webpage during each funding round. You may want to consider signing up for the EV 
Listserv located on that page to receive funding announcements and updates. 
 
How much funding is available for rebates? 
The Illinois EPA has been appropriated $14 million for the current fiscal year, which ends on June 30, 2026. 
Actual funding amounts will be determined by the amount of money available in the Electric Vehicle 
Rebate Fund not to exceed $14 million.  

 
Eligibility 

 
What are the eligibility requirements for the rebate? 
Full eligibility requirements are found in the EV Rebate Act and in the Illinois EPA’s regulations at 35 Ill. 
Adm. Code 275.  However, the Agency is still in the process of updating its regulations to reflect recent 
statutory amendments, so they may differ from the requirements in the Electric Vehicle Rebate Act in 
some respects.  For any conflict between the current rules and the Electric Vehicle Rebate Act, the 
provisions of the Act are controlling.  
 
The basic eligibility requirements are: 

• The vehicle must be a new or used all-electric vehicle and legally permitted to drive on all public 
roadways, including interstate highways.  

• The selling price of the vehicle cannot exceed $80,000, not including state and local taxes, license 
and registration fees, documentary service fees, and aftermarket products, if itemized separately 
on the bill of sale.  

• The vehicle must be purchased from a dealership licensed by the Illinois Secretary of State and be 
the owner of the vehicle at the time the rebate is issued. Rented or leased vehicles, vehicles 
purchased from an out-of-state dealership, and vehicles delivered to or received by the purchaser 
out-of-state are not eligible for a rebate under the Act.  

 

 

https://epa.illinois.gov/topics/ceja/electric-vehicle-rebates.html
https://epa.illinois.gov/topics/ceja/electric-vehicle-rebates.html
https://www.ilga.gov/Legislation/ILCS/Articles?ActID=1608&ChapterID=36&Chapter=ENVIRONMENTAL%20SAFETY&MajorTopic=HEALTH%20AND%20SAFETY
https://pcb.illinois.gov/documents/dsweb/Get/Document-11964/
https://pcb.illinois.gov/documents/dsweb/Get/Document-11964/


 
 

• A rebate cannot have been previously issued for the vehicle that is the subject of the application. 
The Illinois EPA uses the vehicle VIN number to track issued rebates. A searchable list of vehicle 
identification numbers for vehicles that have received a rebate under the  Act is on the Illinois EPA 
website. 

• The applicant must reside in Illinois, both at the time the vehicle was purchased and at the time 
the rebate is issued. 

• The applicant must not have received a rebate under the Act in the 10 years prior to the date an 
application is received by the Agency.  

• The applicant’s family income cannot exceed 500% of the federal poverty line for the current State 
fiscal year. 

• The applicant must apply for the rebate within 180 days after the vehicle purchase date and 
provide and certify to all of the information specified in the application. The application must be 
postmarked within 180 days after the vehicle purchase date and during an open rebate cycle. 

• The purchaser must retain ownership of the vehicle for a minimum of 12 consecutive months 
immediately after the vehicle purchase date. The purchaser must register the vehicle in Illinois 
during that time frame. 

 
Rebate recipients who fail to satisfy any of the above criteria will be required to reimburse the Agency all 
of the original rebate amount and shall notify the Agency within 60 days of failing to satisfy the criteria.  
 
If I purchased a vehicle before the current funding cycle opens, am I eligible for a rebate? 
You will be eligible if you purchased an eligible vehicle, apply within 180 days of the purchase date and 
during the application period, and meet all other eligibility requirements. 
 
Who is considered a licensed dealer? 
The dealership must have a dealer license with the Illinois Secretary of State. 
 
Does the EV rebate include plug-in hybrids? 
No. The Electric Vehicle Rebate Act defines “electric vehicle” as: 

 

"…a vehicle that is exclusively powered by and refueled by electricity, must be plugged in to 
charge, and is legally permitted to drive on all public roadways, including interstate highways. 
"Electric Vehicle" does not include electric vehicles primarily intended to be driven off-
highway, including golf carts and electric vehicles with a maximum speed below 45 miles per 
hour, or hybrid electric vehicles and extended-range electric vehicles that are also equipped 
with conventional fueled propulsion or auxiliary engines.” 

  

https://epa.illinois.gov/content/dam/soi/en/web/epa/topics/ceja/documents/vin-lookup.pdf
https://epa.illinois.gov/content/dam/soi/en/web/epa/topics/ceja/documents/vin-lookup.pdf


 
 

 
Does the EV rebate include motorcycles? 
Yes. A $1,500 rebate is available for electric motorcycles. To be rebate eligible, the vehicle must be 
able to legally drive on all public roadways, including interstate highways. Off-highway vehicles, golf 
carts and electric vehicles with a maximum speed below 45 mph are not eligible. 
 
Does the EV rebate include off-road vehicles? 
No. The definition of “electric vehicle” specifically excludes off-road vehicles. 
 
Do LSV (Low Speed Vehicles) qualify for this program? 
No. electric vehicles with a maximum speed below 45 miles per hour are specifically prohibited from receiving 
the rebate.  
 
Is there an income limit for eligibility to receive the rebate? 
Yes, an “eligible applicant" means persons and families whose income does not exceed 500% of the federal 
poverty line for the current State fiscal year and who may not be claimed as a dependent. 
 
Who qualifies as low income? 
A “low-income applicant” is defined as, “ persons and families whose income does not exceed 80% of the 
regional or county median income for the current State fiscal year, as established by the United States 
Department of Housing and Urban Development's Illinois Income Limits by metropolitan area and 
county.” Median income can be found on the HUD website at Illinois Low Income Limits by County 
 
If I received a rebate under the former Alternate Fuels Program in the past 10 years, will I still be 
eligible for a rebate under the Electric Vehicle rebate? 
Yes. The 10-year limitation on each person receiving a rebate only applies to rebates issued consistent 
with the new Electric Vehicle Rebate program, not any prior rebate program. If you have received a 
rebate for purchasing an electric or alternatively fueled vehicle prior to July 1, 2022, the rebate was given 
under the Alternate Fuels Program. 

 
Application Procedures 

 
When are applications due? 
The rebate application must be postmarked within 180 days of the vehicle purchase date; AND, the rebate 
application must be postmarked on or before the end of the rebate cycle. Rebates cannot be postmarked 
before the first day of the rebate cycle. 
 
Note that rebates are first issued to applicants that qualify as low-income and then in postmark date 
order to other applicants. Rebates will only be issued as long as funding is available. After funding is 
exhausted, applications for rebate will no longer be reviewed. 
 

https://www.huduser.gov/portal/datasets/il/il2024/select_Geography.odn?STATES=17.0&statelist=17.0&stname=&wherefrom=%24wherefrom%24&statefp=00&year=&ne_flag=0&selection_type=&incpath=%24incpath%24&data=2024


 

Is the purchase summary enough documentation for the application? 
No. You must provide a copy of the signed purchased agreement.  
 
Does the Illinois EPA provide receipt of application to the applicant? 
The Illinois EPA does not provide information on application receipt. If the application is deemed 
ineligible, or incomplete or there are insufficient funds, the applicant will receive a denial letter or an 
insufficient funds letter in that regard. Alternatively, the rebate will be processed and the applicant will 
receive a check from the Illinois Office of Comptroller. 
 
While not required, applicants seeking confirmation of receipt should send applications by certified 
mail so that the applicant will receive a delivery receipt from the United States Postal Service. 
 
Should I keep a copy of the application documents that I submit? 
While not required, it is prudent to keep a copy of the application materials submitted to the Illinois EPA 
for future reference.  
 
If I own the vehicle with another person, do I put both names on the application? 
No. Put only the name of the person applying for the rebate. 
 
What does “Gross Income” mean and how is it applied to this program? 
As stated in the application form and application instructions, the applicant’s income level is to be 
determined by totaling the combined gross income of the applicant and all persons over the age of 18 
living at applicant’s residence and related to applicant by blood, marriage, or adoption. This would include 
the combined pre-tax and pre-deduction income from all applicable persons in the household for all 
income sources, including, but not limited to, income from employment, social security, pensions, 
interest, dividends, rental income, and support payments. Further, all gross income is to be accounted 
for, whether it is taxable income or non-taxable income and whether or not it is reported to the IRS or the 
State of Illinois. 
 

Incomplete Applications and Appealing 

Will I receive notification if my rebate is denied? 
Yes. If a rebate is denied, including for untimeliness, ineligibility, or lack of documentation, a denial 
letter will be sent to the applicant with instructions for resubmitting missing documentation and/or 
appealing the denial. 
 
What can I do if I receive a denial of my rebate application? 
The critical first step is to carefully review the denial letter to determine the basis for denial. 

 
Incomplete: If the denial letter states that the application is denied because it is incomplete, the 
application may address the deficiencies noted in the letter by a re-application, provided the 
applicant continues to meet the eligibility requirements and the application is postmarked within  



 
 
180 days of the vehicle purchase date AND by the close of the rebate cycle. Note that this “re-
application" constitutes a new application with a new postmarked place in the queue for review of 
application and issuance of a rebate. The applicant may resubmit an application by simply including a 
new application form, clearly stating at the top of the form that applicant incorporates by reference all 
previously submitted information and documents, certifying/signing the form, and inserting the 
information that was missing on the form and/or including the documentation that was missing as 
noted in the denial letter. Alternatively, the applicant may provide an entire stand-alone fully 
completed application including copies of all previously submitted information as well as the 
requested materials and documents. 

 
Ineligible: If the denial letter states that the application is not eligible for a rebate, rather than just 
incomplete, then there is no opportunity nor need for an application resubmission. If the applicant 
believes that the Illinois EPA has erred in its decision, the applicant may file an appeal of decision 
with the Director of the Illinois EPA, see program rules for information concerning appeals. 

  
I received a denial letter for having an incomplete application, should I appeal or just send in the 
missing information? 
You will need to decide the best option; however, if your application is missing required documents or 
information, denial will likely be affirmed on appeal to the Director even if you submit with your appeal 
the missing documents or information. The denial letter gives instructions on what information is 
missing and where to send the missing information. Providing the missing information to the Electric 
Vehicle Rebate Program is considered a new application, all eligibility criteria apply and you are only 
eligible to resubmit an application if the reapplication is postmarked within 180 days of purchase of your 
vehicle and by the close of the rebate cycle. Importantly, do not both appeal and resubmit your 
application, take one action or the other. 
 
When sending in additional information to complete my application, should I also include the whole 
package of information that I originally sent? 
There is no need to send all of the original documentation, only the missing information, provided the 
applicant continues to meet the eligibility requirements. You should include a copy of your original 
application form and note that you are adding missing information. Any completeness or reapplication 
must be postmarked within 180 days of the vehicle purchase date AND prior to the close of the 
rebate cycle.  Note that a “re-application" constitutes a new application with a new postmarked place 
in the queue for review of application and issuance of a rebate. 
 

Rebate Processing 
 
Is the rebate a tax credit or will I receive a check? 
Disbursement of rebates will be in the form of a check from the Illinois Office of Comptroller. To this 
end, an IRS form W-9 or W-8BIN, as applicable, is required documentation as part of the application 
to process the rebate. 

https://pcb.illinois.gov/documents/dsweb/Get/Document-11964/
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw9.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw8ben.pdf


 

 
How can an applicant find when their rebate is issued? 
Applicants can go to the Illinois Office of Comptroller’s Vendor Payments query system to view Issued and 
Pending Payments at https://illinoiscomptroller.gov/vendor-services/vendor-payments-new. As noted 
elsewhere, rebates will first be issued to low-income applicants. Rebates for other applicants necessarily 
will not begin to be issued until it is determined that sufficient funds are available to pay all low-income 
applicants. 
 

When will I receive my rebate? 
Illinois EPA is required to prioritize low income applications. Assuming that an application is eligible, 
complete and funds are still available, rebates for low income applicants will be processed as they 
are received and reviewed. Non-low income applicants may have to wait until after the close of the 
rebate cycle before the Illinois EPA processes their rebate.  

 
Funding Cycles 

 
Will there be future funding cycles? 
There will be future funding cycles as funds allow. 
 

When will the next funding cycle open? 
Application information will be available on Illinois’ Electric Vehicle Rebate Program webpage. Those 
interested in being notified about future EV rebate cycles should sign-up for the listserv on the EV Rebate 
Program webpage. 
  
Will applications that could not be paid during a funding cycle due to insufficient funding or were 
submitted after the funding cycle be rolled over to the next funding cycle? 
Applications will not be rolled over into future funding cycles. 
 

Miscellaneous 
 

Can the program be used by fleet operators as well? 
The Electric Vehicle Rebate Program is for individuals, not governments, businesses, or commercial 
entities. 
 

Is there a rebate for installation of charging infrastructure at individual homes? 
There are currently no state grants or rebates available for infrastructure for individual electric vehicle 
owners at their residences. However, Illinois is working toward expanding electric vehicle charging 
infrastructure in Illinois for public use on many fronts. 
 
The rules for the program, 35 Ill. Adm. Code 275, don’t place a cap on income. I made more than 
500% of the federal poverty line this year, can I still apply? 
No, the Agency is still in the process of updating its rules to reflect the recent statutory amendments, so  

https://illinoiscomptroller.gov/vendor-services/vendor-payments-new
https://www2.illinois.gov/epa/topics/ceja/Pages/Electric-Vehicle-Rebates.aspx
https://www2.illinois.gov/epa/topics/ceja/Pages/Electric-Vehicle-Rebates.aspx


 
 
they may differ from the requirements in the Electric Vehicle Rebate Act in some respects.  For any 
conflict between the current rules and the Electric Vehicle Rebate Act, the provisions of the Act are 
controlling. 


