

NEWS RELEASE

Illinois Environmental Protection Agency

1021 North Grand Avenue East, P.O. Box 19276 Springfield, Illinois 62794-9276

Phone: 217/782-3397

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE April 13, 2024

Contact: Kim Biggs 217-558-1536 Kim.Biggs@illinois.gov

Illinois EPA Celebrates Earth Month by Recognizing Young Environmentalists through Annual Poster, Poetry, and Prose Contest

Students Recognized for Creativity on the Topic of Water

SPRINGFIELD — The Illinois Environmental Protection Agency today honored a group of creative fifth and sixth grade students selected for their artistic and writing skills used to express environmental awareness, as part of the Agency's Annual Poster, Poetry, and Prose Contest. The students selected from throughout Illinois were recognized at a ceremony at the Illinois State Library in Springfield.

Each year, fifth and sixth grade students in Illinois take part in the Poster, Poetry, and Prose contest as one of the agency's environmental education initiatives. As part of the contest, participating schools study environmental concepts with an emphasis on the current year's environmental theme. Many teachers round out the classroom instruction by having the students create posters or poetry/prose works to illustrate what they have learned and submit these to the Illinois EPA. Participating schools can select four works in each category to submit for competitive judging. This year's theme, "Where Does Water Go? How Can We Slow the Flow?" focuses on understanding how rain moves through the landscape, the effects of droughts and floods, and how we can adapt to help protect our water resources.

"The works created by these students are an excellent display of the knowledge they gain when environmental education is incorporated in the classroom," said Illinois EPA Director John J. Kim. "We continue to be encouraged by the interest these students and teachers have to learn more about protecting our environmental resources."

Poetry/Prose Top Award Winners

Lila Cohen

St. Giles School, Oak Park

Kelci Macklin

Beecher City Grade School, Beecher City

Brighid Reid

Somonauk Middle School, Somonauk

Avery Schoonover

Beecher City Grade School, Beecher City

Grace Tomasik

St. Alphonsus/St. Patrick Catholic School, Lemont

Tristan Ward

Providence St. Mel School, Lemont

Posters Top Award Winners

Ada Bright

John B. Murphy School, Chicago

Hannah Cachola

Prairie Crossing Charter School, Grayslake

Amelia Guillaume

John B. Murphy School, Chicago

Adrian Gwizd

St. Alphonsus/St. Patrick Catholic School,

Lemont

Emma Muñoz

Omar E. Torres Elementary, Chicago

Jolie Smith

John B. Murphy School, Chicago

Students, their families, and teachers were invited to today's awards ceremony at the Illinois State Library, where the top award and honorable mention winners received environmental reference books for their school libraries. The winners, along with all finalists, also received certificates and ribbons for their creative efforts.

A complete list of winners by school is attached. The top twelve entries will also be displayed on the Illinois EPA's website at: https://epa.illinois.gov/topics/education/contest/elementary/2024.html

Information about the Poster, Poetry, and Prose Contest can be obtained by contacting Kristi Morris, Environmental Education Coordinator for the Illinois EPA at Kristi.Morris@Illinois.gov.

Illinois Environmental Protection Agency 2024 Poster, Poetry, and Prose Winners

Beecher City Grade School, Beecher City

Kelci Macklin, Top Award Winner Avery Schoonover, Top Award Winner Aria Ervin, Honorable Mention Luka Howell, Honorable Mention Colton Gregory, Special Recognition Luke Roadarmel, Special Recognition Isabella Smigiel, Special Recognition Jadyn Wright, Special Recognition

John B. Murphy Elementary, Chicago

Ada Bright, Top Award Winner Amelia Guillaume, Top Award Winner Jolie Smith, Top Award Winner Adeline Schmidt, Honorable Mention Ricardo Garcia, Special Recognition Brianna Gowdy, Special Recognition Nicolas Soriano, Special Recognition

Mary Morgan Elementary, Byron

Sylas Mendoza, Special Recognition Vivian Scheer, Special Recognition

Omar E. Torres Elementary, Chicago

Emma Muñoz, Top Award Winner Shelly Espinoza, Honorable Mention Angelica Solis, Honorable Mention Alexa Dominguez, Special Recognition Erik Hernandez, Special Recognition Daisy Ramirez, Special Recognition

Prairie Crossing Charter School, Grayslake

Hannah Cachola, Top Award Winner Isabelle Manzanga, Honorable Mention Julia Pejsach, Honorable Mention Elle Brown, Special Recognition Ryan Brzezinski, Special Recognition Alayna Farooq, Special Recognition Marina Gonzales Vargas, Special Recognition Quinn Nieder, Special Recognition

Providence St. Mel School, Chicago

Tristan Ward, Top Award Winner

Somonauk Middle School, Somonauk

Brighid E. Reid, Top Award Winner Devaun Towne, Special Recognition

St. Alphonsus/St. Patrick Catholic School, Lemont

Adrian Gwizd, Top Award Winner Grace Tomasik, Top Award Winner Lauren Edwards, Honorable Mention Olivia Cornejo, Special Recognition Gabriel Koenigsmark, Special Recognition Luke Laning, Special Recognition Hazel Repta, Special Recognition Dominic Tristano, Special Recognition

St. Giles School, Oak Park

Lila Cohen, Top Award Winner
Emmie Clark, Honorable Mention
Chris Marshall, Honorable Mention
Adalyn Nold, Honorable Mention
Connor Yaffe, Honorable Mention
Erin Brady, Special Recognition
Cameron Kelecius, Special Recognition
Elena Yager, Special Recognition

Trinity Christian School, Carbondale

Charlotte Andersen, Special Recognition Justice Holevoet, Special Recognition Ivy Kirk, Special Recognition